So you want to know a bit about me. Here is a quick resume of my background and interests. I won't go into too much detail, if you want to know more then contact me.

Who am I ?

My name is Nick Turner and I live in a small town called Wellington in the county of Somerset in the South West of England. I have lived here since 1990 but originate from Ossett, West Yorkshire, England.

Where do I work ?

I am a Senior Software Engineer for CardStream Ltd. a company based in Taunton offering Payment Gateway solutions.

I am responsible for the main design and development of the payment gateway, and this includes communication between an customers issuing bank and the merchants acquiring bank. I maintain the 3-D Secure processing for payments where this can be offered to increase security.

What is my education ?

I undertook my secondary school education at Ossett Comprehensive School, and then proceeded to higher education at Newcastle Polytechnic (Northumbria University). I completed my education (if one can ever complete their education) by taking a HND in Computing at Trent Polytechnic (Nottingham Trent University).

What are my interests ?

My main interests in life are Programming, Music and Scouting.

This is a bonus considering my job, I have been interested in computer programming ever since I got my first Sinclair Spectrum at the age of fifteen. Even when not 'working' I am sat at the computer learning new technologies, playing with new language feature and design patterns and even developing my own PHP framework. Not to mention the websites I create for myself, friends and local organisations.

Music has been an interest of mine for equally as long. I own an established mobile disco company TNT Disco. The disco is a regular feature at local School Discos, Weddings Receptions and Birthday Parties. The website is of course developed my myself and offers a fully integrated online booking system with online payments, play list management, planning forms etc.

Scouting has been a big part of my life ever since I joined the movement as a Cub Scout when I was 8 years old. I am currently an Explorer Scout Leader with 1st Wellington Scout Group. I enjoy the leadership challenge that this incurs. I am a keen walker and have done many long distance walks in England and Wales such as parts of the Pennine Way, the Yorkshire Three Peaks Walk and the length of Hadrian's Wall.

Well that's enough about me. I hope you explore this site and find something of use on it. Why not contact me if you want to know more about me.

You can view my full CV for further information.